The War Memorial Library in Hudson is a non-profit registered charity providing a subscription library of printed and digital materials, primarily in the English language, to the residents of Hudson, Quebec and surrounding communities.Operated by volunteers, the Library is self-financing through membership fees, donations and fund raising activities. The Library in turn donates, to local charities, funds in excess of its own needs.The building and the Library serve as a memorial to those in Hudson who served in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Thursday, March 15, 2018

The Write Stuff - Min Jin Lee

Min Jin Lee attended Yale College, and worked as a lawyer in New York City for several years, prior to writing full time. The library has just acquired her second novel Pachinko. It's a saga about four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family fighting to control their destiny in 20th century Japan. The novel took Lee four years to write.
Pachinko was a finalist for The National Book Award for Fiction, and appeared in the top ten books of 2017 for the BBC, CBC and San Francisco Chronicle amongst others. It was also a New York Times bestseller. Lee lives in New York with her family. To visit her online click here.

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Hudson Box Office (HBO) - The Crown

The Crown is a historical television drama series based on the film The Queen, and the award winning play, The Audience, by Peter Morgan. The series is a biographical story about the reign of Queen Elizabeth ll .The library has just acquired the first series, which covers the period from her marriage to Prince Philip in 1947 to 1955. The Crown has received widespread critical acclaim and received numerous awards including best actress and actor at the Screen Actors Guild Awards for Claire Foy who plays Elizabeth, and John Lithgow who plays Winston Churchill.For more details about this excellent series, click here.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Murder Ink - Jane Casey

Jane Casey is an Irish author of crime fiction novels. Crime is a family affair for Casey. Married to a criminal barrister, she has a unique insight into the brutal underbelly of urban life, from the smell of a police cell to the darkest motives of a serial killer. This gritty realism has made her books international bestsellers and critical successes.  She writes the D.C. Maeve Kerrigan series – Kerrigan has quickly become one of the most popular characters in crime fiction.
The library acquired her most recent novel Let the Dead Speak as well as some of her previous novels to complete the series.
Casey lives in London where she works as an editor. To visit her online click here.

Monday, February 26, 2018

February - DVDs

The Crown 
Series One

Click on title for more details:
Janet King   Series Two
Shetland   Series Three
To Walk Invisible: The Bronte Sisters
Victoria and Abdul

February - Non-Fiction

How We Did It
Karl Subban

Click on title for more details:
Falling Upward   Richard Rohr
The Outrun   Amy Liptrot
Creative Schools   Ken Robinson
Other Minds:The Octopus, The Sea and...  Peter Godfrey-Smith
The Lion in the Living Room   Abigail Tucker
Thai Street Food   David Thompson
Lean in for Graduates   Sheryl Sandberg
Vanuatu & New Caledonia   Jayne D'Arcy
Rarotonga, Samoa & Tonga   Brett Atkinson
Fiji   Paul Clammer
Hawaii   Sara Benson
The Fear and the Freedom   Keith Lowe
Indigenous Writes   Chelsea Vowel
Fire and Fury   Michael Wolff
Njinja of Angola   Linda M Heywood
Where the Past Begins   Amy Tan 

February - Mysteries

The Secret, Book & Scone Society
Ellery Adams

Click on title for more details:
The Facts of Life and Death   Belinda Bauer
The Beggar's Opera   Peggy Blair 🍁
The Patience of the Spider   Andrea Camilleri
Voice of the Violin   Andrea Camilleri
After the Fire   Jane Casey
The Burning   Jane Casey
The Last Girl   Jane Casey
The Stranger You Know   Jane Casey
Don't Let Go   Harlan Coben
I Am Watching You   Teresa Driscoll
Deadfall   Linda Fairstein
Killer Look   Linda Fairstein
She's Not There   Joy Fielding
In the Shadows   Sheila Kindellan-Sheehan 🍁
Cruel Mercy   David Mark
Give Me The Child   Mel McGrath
The Secrets She Keeps   Michael Robotham
Heart of the City   Robert Rotenberg 🍁
Deep Freeze   John Sandford
Crime Song   David Swinson

February - Fiction

Dan Brown

Click on title for more details:
Brother   David Chariandry 🍁
The California Wife   Kristen Harnisch
Munich   Robert Harris
A Mother's Love   Charlotte Hubbard
The Ladies of Ivy Cottage   Julie Klassen
Roomies   Christina Lauren
Pachinko   Min Jin Lee
What She Knew   Gilly MacMillan
Fever   Deon Meyer
The Prague Sonata  Bradford Morrow
Hex   Thomas Olde Heuvelt
Bellevue Square   Michael Redhill 🍁
Luck, Love & Lemon Pie   Amy E Reichert
The Simplicity of Cider   Amy E Reichert
Son of a Trickster   Eden Robinson 🍁
My Absolute Darling   Gabriel Tallent
House of Names   Colm Toibin

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

March Book Sale

The March Book Sale starts at 2:30 pm on Monday, March 5th and runs until Saturday, March 10th.  Biographies and history books are featured.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

The Write Stuff - Jillian Cantor

Jillian Cantor graduated in English from Penn State University, and she holds an MFA from the University of Arizona. She is the author of award-winning novels for teens and adults, and the library has just acquired her critically acclaimed novel, The Lost Letter. This is a historical novel of love and survival,inspired by real resistance workers in Austria during the second world war. It centres on a mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. This heart-breaking and heart-warming novel will appeal to fans of The Nightingale and Sarah's Keys
Cantor lives in Arizona with her husband and two sons. To visit her online click here.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Hudson Box Office (HBO) - The Good Karma Hospital

The Good Karma Hospital is a British medical TV series. Junior doctor Ruby Walker,( Amrita Acharia) becomes disillusioned with her life after a broken relationship, and decides to leave the UK. She answers a job advertisment for a junior doctor at a hospital in Southern India hoping to make a fresh start. She finds herself at an under-resourced and overworked cottage hospital, run by an eccentric expat, Dr Lydia Fonseca ( Amanda Redman ). The library has just acquired the first series. For more details click here.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Workshop on Writing Your Family Stories

Do you have a family story you’re itching to tell?
A family myth or mystery you’d like to sleuth out?
An heirloom that speaks to your heart, but you just can’t find the words?

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Murder Ink - David Jackson

David Jackson is the author of a series of crime thrillers featuring Irish-American NYPD Detective Callum Doyle.  Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of Jackson’s new series called the DS Nathan Cody book series.  The library acquired this novel.  Please remember to use the Suggestion Book at the Front Desk if you would like to read him more.

Jackson is married, with two daughters and a menagerie of animals.  To visit him online, click here.

Monday, January 29, 2018

Library Shoppe - Special Sale

Saturday, February 3rd