The War Memorial Library in Hudson is a non-profit registered charity providing a subscription library of printed and digital materials, primarily in the English language, to the residents of Hudson, Quebec and surrounding communities.Operated by volunteers, the Library is self-financing through membership fees, donations and fund raising activities. The Library in turn donates, to local charities, funds in excess of its own needs.The building and the Library serve as a memorial to those in Hudson who served in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Thursday, July 20, 2017

August Book Sale

The August Book Sale starts at 2:30 pm on Monday, August 7th and runs until Saturday, August 12th.  Summer reading is featured.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

The Write Stuff - Claire Cameron

Award-winning author Claire Cameron was born in Toronto in 1973. Her writing had appeared in the New York Times and The Globe and Mail. She is currently a staff writer at The Millions. The Library has just acquired her third novel, The Last Neanderthal. It's the enthralling story of two women separated by millenia, but linked by an epic journey that will transform them both. Linked across the ages by their shared experience of early motherhood, both stories examine the often taboo corners of women's lives. Claire lives in Toronto with her husband and two children. Click here to visit her online.

Saturday, July 8, 2017

Hudson Box Office (HBO) - Victoria

Victoria is a British drama series written by Daisy Goodwin, starring Jenna Coleman as the young Queen Victoria and Tom Hughes as Prince Albert. The library has the first series which depicts her early life, beginning with her accession to the throne at the age of 18, her friendship and infatuation with Lord Melbourne, her courtship and marriage to Albert, and finally to the birth of their first child, Victoria. For more details click here.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Mike Kershaw

It is with great sadness that we announce that Mike Kershaw, a valued member and leader of our library, passed away on Sunday, June 11th. Mike moved the library into the 21st century by creating our online catalogue as well as our blog.  His drive and passion for pushing us forward and creating a better library experience will be his legacy for many years to come.  RIP, Mike – you will be sorely missed.

June - Fiction








The Art of Arranging Flowers
Lynne Branard







Click on title for more details:
Etched in Bone   Anne Bishop
The Last Neanderthal   Claire Cameron 🍁
Any Day Now   Robyn Carr
Dragon Teeth   Michael Crichton
Entwined With You   Sylvia Day
Little Sister   Barbara Gowdy
Into The Water   Paula Hawkins
The Baker's Secret   Stephen P. Kiernan
My Not So Perfect Life   Sophie Kinsella
If Not For You   Debbie Macomber
My Italian Bulldozer   Alexander McCall Smith
The Delight of Being Ordinary   Roland Merullo
The Quick   Lauren Owen
Be My Wolf   Emma Richler 🍁
Goodnight from London   Jennifer Robson 🍁
The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane   Lisa See
The Good at Heart   Ursula Werner
The Night the Lights Went Out   Karen White
The Ashes of London   Andrew Taylor ( Large Print )

June - Mysteries







Heartbreak Hotel
Jonathan Kellerman








Click on title for more details:
Rounding the Mark   Andrea Camilleri
No Easy Target   Iris Johansen
Blacklight Blue   Peter May
Revelation   Robert B Parker
Fast and Loose   Stuart Woods

June - DVDs







Game of Thrones   Season 4








Click on title for more details:
The Americans   Season 3
Bugs Bunny and Friends
Middle School
Paterson
The Ugly Duckling and Me
Victoria   Season 1
Zootopia

June - Non-Fiction







In Such Good Company
Carol Burnett








Click on title for more details:
Filthy Rich   James Patterson
Manderley Forever   Tatiana de Rosnay
Option B   Sheryl & Ada Sandberg
Penguin the Magpie   Cameron and Bradley Bloom

June - Children's Books







Diary of a Wimpy Kid #11: Double Down
Jeff Kinney







Click on title for more details
Bad Kitty Goes to the Vet   Nick Bruel
Pokemon Adventures : Diamond and Pearl Platinum   Kusaka Hiden Pokemon
Pokemon XY Vol 3   Kusaka Hiden Pokemon
Pokemon XY Vol 2   Kusaka Hiden Pokemon
Phoebe and Her Unicorn #5: Unicorn Crossing   Dana Simpson
Hilo #3: The Great Big Boom   Judd Winck
Olive's First Sleepover   Roberta Baker
Llama Llama Mad at Mama   Anna Dewdney
Five Fast Tales   Disney-Pixar
Hairy Maclary Scattercat   Linley Dodd
Hairy Maclary's Rumpus at the Vet   Linley Dodd
Slinky Malinki, Open The Door   Linley Dodd
My Dad Thinks He's Funny   Katrina Germein
My Mom is Great   Gaby Goldsack
Oakey A Goodnight Kiss   Jillian Harker
Dinosaurs are Back and It's All Your Fault Edward!   Wendy & Daly Hartmann
Guess How Much I Love You   Sam McBratney
Look at Me   Robert Munsch 🍁
Puckster Goes to the Olympics   Lorna Schultz Nicholson 🍁
Puckster Plays the Hockey Mascots   Lorna Schultz Nicholson 🍁
Puckster First Hockey Tryout   Lorna Schultz Nicholson 🍁
The Adventures of Beekle, The Unimaginary Friend   Dan Santat
Ricky the Rocket   John Sheridan 🍁
Ricky the Rocket and the Giant Space Monster!   John Sheridan 🍁
Always   Ann Stott
Firehouse   Mark Teague
The Fever Code (Maze Runner Series)   James Dashner
The Kill Order (Maze Runner Series)   James Dashner
Trials of Apollo#2: The Dark Prophecy   Rick Riordan
The Geography of You and Me   Jennifer Smith
Kidpaddle#5: Alien Chantilly   Midam

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

July Book Sale















The July Book Sale starts at 2:30 pm on Monday, July 3rd and runs until Saturday, July 8th.  Cook books are featured.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

The Write Stuff - Kathleen A.Flynn

Kathleen Flynn was born in Conneticut and holds an MA from the University of North Carolina. She taught English in Hong Kong, and is currently a copy editor at the New York Times. The library has just acquired a copy of her critically acclaimed debut novel, The Jane Austen Project. Perfect for fans of Jane Austen this well researched book, offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors. Two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected, unpublished novel.To visit Kathleen online, click here.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

HBO - The Durrells in Corfu

This is a British comedy - drama series based on Gerald Durrell's three autobiographical books, about his family's four years (1935-39) on Corfu. Keeley Hawes stars as the recently widowed Louisa Durrell, who decides to move from dreary England to the sun-dappled Greek island with her four children. A Homeric battle ensues as the family adapts to life on the island which, despite a lack of electricity, is cheap and an earthly paradise. The library has the first series. Click here for more details.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Murder Ink - Stephen Maher

Stephen Maher is an award-winning political reporter and columnist based in Ottawa.  Maher was born in France and raised in Nova Scotia.
In 2012, he published his first novel, Deadline, a political thriller. The Library recently acquired Salvage, his second novel.
As an investigative journalist, Maher has received a National Newspaper Award, a Michener Award, a Canadian Hillman prize and two Canadian Association of Journalism awards. He is a 2016 Harvard Nieman fellow.
Maher lives in Ottawa with his partner, Camille, and his old sailboat, Free Spirit.  To visit him online, click here.

Friday, May 26, 2017

May - Children's Books






Hot Hippo
Mwenye Hadithi





Click on title for more details:
Crafty Chameleon   Mwenye Hadithi
Hungary Hyena   Mwenye Hadithi
Tricky Tortoise   Mwenye Hadithi
Survival Ice Storm   Frieda Wishinsky 🍁
Alienology   Douglas Steer
Our Song, The Story of O Canada   Peter Kuitenbrouwer 🍁
Who is J.K.Rowling?    Pam & Belviso Pollack
Goodnight Canada   Andrea Beck 🍁
Good Morning Canada   Andrea Beck 🍁
In the Red Canoe   Leslie. A. Davidson 🍁
Tyrannosaurus Drip ( + CD )   Julia Donaldson
Something from Nothing   Phoebe Gilman 🍁
Hot Wheels: To the Extreme   Hot Wheel Series
Hot Wheels: Street Heat   Hot Wheels Series
Hot Wheels: Off-Roading   Hot Wheels Series
Hot Wheels: Start your Engine   Hot Wheels Series
Hot Wheels: Stunt Show   Hot Wheels Series
What Matters   Alison Hughes 🍁
We Found a Hat  John Klassen 🍁
My Little Grandmother Often Forgets   Reeve Lindberg
Spider-Man 3: Spider-Man v Sandman   Lime Har Marvel Comics
Spider-Man 2: Everyday Hero   Saunder Marvel Comics
Spider-Man : Worst Enemies   Saunder Marvel Comics
The Bravest Knight   Mercer Mayer
On the Moon   Anna Milbourne
Walk on the Wild Side   Nicholas Oldland 🍁
The Thing Lou couldn't Do   Ashley Spires 🍁
C is for Canada   Mike Ulmer 🍁
Maquillage a Gogo   Robert Munsch 🍁
Les Premiers Hommes   Nicolas Harris
Une Journee dans la Vie de ton Corps   Beverly McMillan
Les Helicopteres   Molly Alioan 🍁
Ruby Red Fort: Look into my Eyes   Lauren Child
The Wizard Heir   Cinda Williams Chima
Canada Year by Year   Elizabeth McCloud 🍁

May - DVDs








Fences








Click on title for more details:
The Dressmaker
Jackie
Moonlight
Queen of Katwe